fitz3

I hopped in the car with my mom in December last year, expecting to be taken to lunch for my birthday. Instead, however, I was taken to the animal shelter. From there, she told me I could choose a cat I wanted as my own. I carefully opened each cage to decide which animal I would pick. Fitz immediately jumped into my arms, and I instantly knew he was the one. The rest was history! Pets make people’s lives more complete, and I know from experience that adopting an animal from a shelter is the way to go. So, here’s a few great reasons why to adopt, not shop!

 

Save a Life

pet-food-supplies-telling-tails-chelmsford-adopt-save-life

Adopting an animal from a shelter can save a life. Owned cats and dogs live longer than strays. Millions of animals in shelters are euthanized each year due to insufficient funding, lack of space, and little interest. Fortunately, these pets that are being abandoned, left behind, or even killed, do have a way out. They can be saved through adoption from people like you!

 

Beneficial to Health

doghome

All pets are good for your health, but adopted pets offer an extra boost. Not only do animals give you unconditional love, but they have been shown to be psychologically, emotionally, and physically beneficial to their companions. Caring for a pet can provide a sense of purpose and fulfillment and lessen feelings of loneliness. When you adopt, you can also feel proud about helping an animal in need! Your pet will be healthier in the long run if it is purchased from a shelter since purebred animals are more prone to developing health problems.

 

Cost Efficiency

raw

Adopting an animal from a shelter is extremely cost efficient, and saving money is always better in my opinion. Low adoption fees are much less than the cost of purebred puppies or kittens sold for profit. When you adopt a pet, the cost of spay/neutering, first vaccinations, and sometimes micro-chipping is usually included in the adoption price. This means you’re scoring a major, fuzzy deal that will thank you with kisses or purrs for years to come. For example, my kitten was purchased for $10. With him, I got a bag of food, a free spay/neutering voucher, and worm medicine all for free! Buying a puppy from a breeder can be extremely expensive, and you will be responsible for all its vet care. The expenses just keep rolling in with a purchased pet.

 

Convenience

c20936c34c8777062f4b8c962961d636

Adopting an animal from a shelter is so convenient for multiple reasons. There are plenty of animals to choose from at shelters. They come in every age, shape, size, coat color and breed mix, and you can find purebreds at shelters as well. Most “preowned” dogs and cats are already house-trained, so that’s a bonus. Older pets are also available at shelters, which work well for the elderly and families with small children. At an animal shelter, you can find a pet to fit your unique personality (even if you’re a little nutty… like Fitz and me). If adopting from a rescue group, they will be able to tell you all about the animal’s personality, so there are no surprises when you bring it home.

 

fitz1-2

Dogs can’t get a job to save up money to buy themselves a new bone, and cats can’t walk down the street to the store to pick up some cat food. They need an owner. They need a “fur”-ever friend. They need you. Look at this picture, it is Fitz and me about a year after adopting him. We are happy as ever. So, take my advice. Adopt an animal. You won’t regret it. I know I haven’t.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Adopt don’t Shop

Leave a Reply

